Reviews

bedsonboard.com, airbnb and Booking.com all ask their guests to write reviews. We’ve had over 100 reviews – all 5-stars – since we started running Zen Dog Charters at the start of 2017 and I’ve copied and pasted a random recent selection below. We’re so grateful to everyone that has booked a stay or charter and we’re especially grateful to those that have kindly written such wonderful reviews.

A lot of the credit has to go to Sam, our caretaker. Sam is meticulous and utterly reliable – always making sure that Zen Dog is spotless for guest arrivals.

I’d also like to thank Ellyott of EyeSea Marine for making sure that everything on board Zen Dog keeps working, Dave Vasey of Vasey Engineering for all the servicing work on our monster engines and everyone at Lymington Yacht Haven who look after Zen Dog, us, and our guests 24/7.

If you’ve stayed on or chartered Zen Dog and feel able to leave us a 5-star Google review, I would be very grateful – please click here

Mike

Exceptional

Wow! Could hotel rooms be a thing of the past? What an amazing way to spend the weekend! Zen Dog is a beautiful vessel and extremely comfortable for myself my wife and my two sons. What better way to spend the evening than sitting on the top deck drinking a wine whilst watching the other craft come in and out of the port. Zen dog has everything you need on board, however the shower block really is 5 star and I enjoyed my morning stroll along the pontoon speaking to other crews to get my shower(and pick up a few breakfast rolls from the club house on the way) I would highly recommend this as a viable accommodation option to anyone and really made our weekend away extra special.

Simon

booking.com, July 2019

Absolutely amazing

Our stay was fantastic, children have never been so excited and asked to come back before even boarding!!! Mike was fab, so were all staff at the marina. Definitely one of the best bookings I have ever made.

Jo

booking.com, July 2019

Exceptional

This boat was absolutely amazing in every way will def book again and recommend it to all our friends

Janella

booking.com, Aug 2019

A wonderful unique way to spend a couple of nights with family Zen Dog exceeded our expectations,

Zen Dog was immaculately presented and Mike the host so helpful and very friendly, all the instructions for boarding Zen Dog were very easy to follow and straight forward, lovely comfortable seating areas and lots of them, everything was absolutely 5* the marina was so peaceful with lovely views

Debbie

booking.com, Aug 2019

Had a brilliant time on the boat. Our 6 year old Grandson loved it too

Throughly enjoyed our stay on Zen Dog. We enjoyed the quirkiness and so much nicer than staying in a hotel.

Barbara

booking.com, Aug 2019

beautiful relaxing time

Was very warm and cosy…bed was lovely and comfy….facilities on marina were stunning….view was beautiful….ideal location…quiet location…..highly recommended….host was brill

Lee

booking.com, Nov 2019

Fabulous, luxurious, peaceful

This Zen Dog did not disappoint. I wanted somewhere different to spend two nights away with my daughter. The boat was so lovely, everything we could have wanted was there. Very impressed with SMS heating control. We used this a lot. When returning after a day out I sent a text message and the heating turned itself on. The bedrooms were definitely luxurious and we slept very soundly, it was so peaceful. Mike was so helpful, sending me text updates with info I may need. It was reassuring to know that I could call or message anytime if needed, which I didn’t as everything was perfect. Excellent yacht club facilities, amazing shower block. Fabulous breakfast at the marina restaurant with a 10 percent discount as we were guests at the marina. Best weekend away and plan to return early next year with my husband.

Donna

booking.com, Nov 2019

Exceptional

An amazing experience to stay on board Zendog. Would highly recommend it. Enjoyed every minute of it, great layout inside, didn’t know what to expect . Definitely stay again.

Dan

booking.com, Dec 2019

Great stay!

Fabulous stay, so much more fun than a hotel room. Zen Dog is a beautiful boat, there were just 3 of us so ideal, we stayed over New Year but it wasn’t cold, the heater did a great job of keeping it cozy. We didn’t cook or use the shower onboard, the Club house facilities are similar to a Spa so was worth the 5 min walk. Would love to go back in the Summer. Mike left us milk & Fizz in the fridge which was a lovely touch, would definitely recommend!

Martine

booking.com, Jan 2020

Above & Beyond!

The access to this property is extremely easy to follow. Very calm, peaceful and relaxing stay. The communication was amazing and the owner went above and beyond for me and my partner. We will definitely be staying again, thank you for the first time experience. 10/10

Adrienne

booking.com, Feb 2020

Absolute Gem!

Beautiful yacht, amazing location, spotlessly clean, the facilities at the marina were perfect. The host went above and beyond our expectations even setting the heating on for us whilst we were out so we would return to a warm place on a cold and rainy day. We are totally in love with it all!!

Marie

booking.com, May 2019

Gorgeous Boat

Thank you so much for the two nights on your gorgeous boat. Very modern and luxurious, everything you might need including a 5 litre bottle of drinking Water and milk in the fridge on arrival- which was really well received as the rain was lashing down all weekend!

Ruth

bedsonboard.com, October 2019

Highly recommend!

Fantastic stay on Zen Dog. Spotless,luxurious and so many little touches which made it extra special.Mike the owner,really is helpful and nothing is too much trouble.Highly recommend!

Sarah

bedsonboard.com, October 2019

Great weekend

boat just as described, great Info from owner. Comfy beds, nice and clean.

Richard

bedsonboard.com, March 2020

Will be booking again soon

Mike and Kirsty have a fantastic boat and made us feel welcome throughout our trip. They were always on hand to give hints and tips about the local area and also provided us with some Fizz on arrival! Will be booking again soon. Regards Paul

Paul

airbnb, Nov 2018

A fantastic winter retreat!

We headed to Lymington via train and found it very easy for a weekend away without driving. The scenery is beautiful and if it wasn’t for the rain we would have hired bikes and explored more. Instead, we enjoyed some great food in town (would recommend Koh Thai and Rivaaz), a beautiful walk around the nature reserve and the cosy local pubs (Mayflower has a good gin selection and very friendly owner). The boat is the perfect place to come back to relax afterwards! I was very impressed with the marina facilities, underfloor heating, heated tower rails and rainfall shower – complete luxury on board and off board too. Mike’s communication was excellent and we very much appreciated our welcome drinks. I would highly recommend a stay on zen dog, all-in-all very luxurious and special.

Rachel

airbnb, Jan 2019

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it as an alternative weekend break

Our stay on Zen Dog exceeded expectations, this was my first experience of booking a boat rather than a hotel for a weekend break so I was a little apprehensive. There was no need to be! The boat is beautiful and it was absolutely spotless both inside and out. Staying at the beginning of March we knew the weather might not be great, it was quite stormy at times but it was really cosy on board. One evening it was raining outside but we sat in the upper seating area drinking champagne with the lights dimmed and it was pretty special. The hosts Mike and Kirsty contacted us to welcome us and make sure we had checked in ok. The chilled Prosecco in the fridge was a lovely touch! They gave us a few tips on places to check out locally too. The yacht haven facilities were outstanding, the shower facilities luxurious and the bar had a good atmosphere and a good gin selection. They do a really good breakfast too! Overall we lived our stay in Lymington, a really beautiful area to explore with great local restaurants – we tried The Angel and the Blue Pig and Koh Thai, both excellent. Our stay on Zen Dog was fantastic and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it as an alternative weekend break.

Sarah

airbnb, March 2019

I’m sad to be leaving the Zen Dog

As a family we wanted to do something a little difference this Easter. We had a few requirements though and the Zen Dog certainly delivered. The peace and tranquility of the water provided a perfect getaway with beautiful walks nearby and the quaint town of Lymington. Little treats on board and Mike’s top tips for where to eat out gave it that personal touch. In the words of two tired but happy little girls ‘I’m sad to be leaving the Zen Dog’.

Alison

airbnb, April 2019

Lovely Boat

Great location, lovely boat which is exceptionally clean and comfortable. The whole family slept like babies while we were onboard. Mike was really helpful when we had a few issues as a result of a fuse blowing.

Anna

airbnb. May 2019

all round recommendation from me

Great boat, very nice owner, great marina facilities, all round recommendation from me.

Mo

airbnb, June 2019